EPRS Admin By / October 27, 2021


Parliamentary committees

Parliamentary committees

There are 20 standing committees (and three sub-committees) in the EP, each covering a different policy area. They draw up reports for consideration in the plenary – on both legislative and non-legislative matters – and seek to hold the executive to account. The seats on each committee, and their chairs, are normally distributed among the Parliament’s political groups in proportion to the number of seats they hold in the Parliament as a whole. The chart below lists the committees of the EP, ordered by the number of MEPs who sit on them. It also shows the chairs, elected by the members of each committee, together with their political group and nationality. The chairs formally meet together in the Conference of Committee Chairs, and have elected Antonio Tajani, Chair of the Constitutional Affairs (AFCO) Committee, as their chair for the first half of the current parliamentary term. The pie chart at the bottom shows the distribution of committee chairs between the political groups in July 2019, using the same colour code as before. In addition to the standing committees, the Parliament currently has three temporary committees and a committee of inquiry, whose terms are all due to expire later in 2021.

Related Articles

Be the first to write a comment.

Leave a Reply