Site icon Epthinktank

Luxembourg EU Council Presidency: Overview of priority dossiers

Written by Dora Boytha (Office of the Deputy Secretary-General)

Luxembourg will hold its 12th Presidency of the Council, concluding the Italian-Latvian-Luxembourg Trio Council Presidency in the second half of 2015. Luxembourg last presided over the Council of the EU in 2005. The official programme of the Presidency will be presented to the Conference of Committee Chairs by Nicolas Schmit, the Minister of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy on 9 June, and by Prime Minister Xavier Bettel to the Parliament on 8 July. Minister Schmitt will be responsible for relations with the European Parliament during the Luxembourgish Presidency.

Luxembourg’s European priorities will focus on the Growth and Jobs Agenda, the social dimension of European policies, the implementation of the European Agenda for Migration and the Energy Union, the reform of the Economic and Monetary Union, the negotiation of the TTIP agreement and the preparation of the COP 21 climate change conference in Paris.

Read this Briefing on Luxembourg EU Council Presidency: Overview of priority dossiers in PDF


The Deputy Secretary General (DSG) is responsible for legislative coordination and planning both within the Parliament and in relation to other Institutions, particularly the Council and the Commission. In carrying out these tasks, the DSG is assisted by the Inter-institutional Relations Unit and the Legislative Planning and Coordination Unit (she is also responsible for the Classified Information Unit). The DSG together with her services assists the President and the Parliament’s governing bodies with briefing and background notes on specific dossiers and procedures, prepares the preliminary draft agendas of plenary sessions, as well as other documents in relation to strategic programming, such as on activities of the Commission and the Council.


Exit mobile version