Site icon Epthinktank

CO2 standards for new cars and vans [EU Legislation in Progress]

Written by Gregor Erbach (4th edition, updated on 28.05.2019),

© arthito / Fotolia

In November 2017, the European Commission adopted a proposal for a regulation on reducing CO2 emissions from new passenger cars and light commercial vehicles (vans). The proposed measures and targets are aligned with the 2030 climate and energy framework and with the energy union strategy, which envisages a reduction in transport emissions and energy consumption.

The Commission sets new targets for the EU fleet-wide average CO2 emissions of new passenger cars and vans. Average CO2 emissions from new passenger cars and vans registered in the EU would have to be 15 % lower in 2025, and 30 % lower in 2030, compared to their respective limits in 2021. The proposal includes a dedicated incentive mechanism for zero- and low-emission vehicles, in order to accelerate their market uptake.

Interinstitutional trilogue negotiations concluded in December with an agreement setting a 37.5 % CO2 reduction target for new cars by 2030, and a 31 % target for new vans. Parliament approved the agreed text on 27 March 2019. The regulation was published in the Official Journal on 25 April 2019. It entered into force on 15 May 2019 and will apply from 1 January 2020.

Interactive PDF

CO2 standards for new cars and vans

Proposal for a regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council setting emission performance standards for new passenger cars and for new light commercial vehicles as part of the Union’s integrated approach to reduce CO2 emissions from light-duty vehicles and amending Regulation (EC) No 715/2007 (recast)
Committee responsible: Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI) COM(2017) 676 of 8.11.2017

procedure ref.: 2017/0293(COD)

Ordinary legislative procedure (COD) (Parliament and Council on equal footing – formerly ‘co-decision’)

Rapporteur: Miriam Dalli (S&D, Malta)
Shadow rapporteurs: Jens Gieseke (EPP, Germany)
John Procter (ECR, United Kingdom)
Nils Torvalds (ALDE, Finland)
Kateřina Konečná (GUE/NGL, Czech Republic)
Rebecca Harms (Greens/EFA, Germany)
Eleonora Evi (EFDD, Italy)
Procedure completed. Regulation (EU) 2019/631
OJ L 111, 25.4.2019, pp. 13–53

Exit mobile version