Site icon Epthinktank

European Labour Authority [EU Legislation in Progress]

Written by Monika Kiss (3rd edition, updated on 26.8.2019),

© macrovector / Fotolia

The rapid increase in the number of Europeans working in a Member State other than their own, the large number of daily cross-border commuters and the need for information on job opportunities and rights at home and abroad have led the European Commission to propose the creation of a European-level coordinating body. The European Labour Authority (ELA) would replace, reorganise, or cooperate with existing structures dealing with information for individuals and employers, mediate between national labour authorities and social security bodies, and gather viable data on posted workers and commuters.

According to the final text of the agreement reached between the Council and the Parliament, the main tasks of the ELA will be to facilitate access to information, enhance cooperation, and coordinate and support concerted and joint inspections. Furthermore, the ELA, in cooperation with Member States and social partner organisations, will assess risks and carry out analyses regarding labour mobility and social security coordination. The ELA may also conclude cooperation agreements with other relevant Union agencies. The European Parliament approved the agreement in plenary on 16 April 2019. The Council adopted the act on 13 June 2019 and the final act was signed on 20 June 2019 and entered into force on 31 July 2019. The Authority will become operational with the capacity to implement its own budget by 1 August 2021.


Proposal for a regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing a European Labour Authority
Committee responsible: Employment and Social Affairs (EMPL) COM(2018) 131 of 13.3.2018


Ordinary legislative procedure (COD) (Parliament and Council on an equal footing – formerly ‘co-decision’)

Rapporteur: Jeroen Lenaers (EPP, the Netherlands)
Shadow rapporteurs: Georgi Pirinski (S&D, Bulgaria)
Ulrike Trebesius (ECR, Germany)
Marian Harkin (ALDE, Ireland)
Rina Ronja Kari (GUE/NGL, Denmark)
Joelle Mélin (ENF, France)
Procedure completed. Regulation (EU) 2019/1149

OJ L 186, 11.7.2019, pp. 21-56 

Exit mobile version