Site icon Epthinktank

Size of Political Groups in the EP (2019-2024)

Size of political groups in the EP, 13 February 2020

Size of political groups in the EP, 13 February 2020

Written by Giulio Sabbati,

Updated on 21.02.2020

Within the European Parliament, Members (MEPs) sit in political groups, whose members come from several countries and come together on the basis of political affinity. Our table shows the number of MEPs in each political group in the European Parliament, broken down by Member State, as well as the non-attached (NI) Members who are not in any group.

At the moment, there are seven political groups in the Parliament, and many of those were also present in the last term:

EPP – Group of the European People’s Party (Christian Democrats)

S&D – Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament

Renew Europe Group

Greens/EFA – Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance

ID – Identity and Democracy Group

ECR – European Conservatives and Reformists Group

GUE/NGL – Confederal Group of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left

The figures are supplied by our colleagues from the Members’ Administration Unit. Please note that these figures are subject to change and as a result we will update this table periodically throughout the five years of  the current parliamentary term.

To find out more about the rules for forming a political group, see this EPRS briefing. To see the table of political groups in the 2014-2019 parliamentary term, see our previous blogpost.


Exit mobile version