EPRS Admin By / March 16, 2022

governing bodies

Governing bodies of the EP

Governing bodies of the EP

The Bureau is the body responsible for financial, organisational and administrative matters within the European Parliament. It is composed of the President and the 14 Vice-Presidents, elected by an absolute majority of the votes in plenary, with the order in which they attained that majority determining their order of precedence. The five Quaestors, elected in plenary to manage administrative and financial matters directly concerning individual Members, also attend the Bureau in an advisory capacity, but cannot vote.
The Conference of Presidents (CoP) – composed of the Parliament’s President and the chairs of its seven political groups – sets the agenda of the plenary and determines the general political orientations of the institution. The table below shows the current members of the CoP, ordered by size of the groups, in terms of their seats in the Parliament. Three groups have co-chairs. The non-attached (NI) Members are represented by a non-voting observer.
The two governing bodies presented above – the Bureau and the Conference of Presidents – are complemented by other coordination bodies, notably the Conference of Committee Chairs (CCC), the Conference of Delegation Chairs, the Panel for the Future of Science and Technology (STOA Panel), and the Democracy Support and Election Coordination Group.

Related Articles

Be the first to write a comment.

Leave a Reply