you're reading...
Economic and Social Policies, PUBLICATIONS, Structural and Cohesion Policies

Economy of the EU regions

The territory of each Member State (MS) is divided into regions under the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) classification. It is a geographical nomenclature for collection and harmonisation of statistics and for socio-economic analysis.

There are three NUTS levels; the first one, major socio-economic regions, the second one basic regions for the application of regional policies and the third one small regions for specific diagnoses.

NUTS 2 has 271 regions: Belgium (11), Bulgaria (6), the Czech Republic (8), Denmark (5), Germany (39), Ireland (2), Greece (13), Spain (19), France (26), Italy (21), Hungary (7), the Netherlands (12), Austria (9), Poland (16), Portugal (7), Romania (8), Slovenia (2), Slovakia (4), Finland (5), Sweden (8) and the UK (37). Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg and Malta are all considered as single regions.

This paper takes into consideration NUTS 2 level because regions eligible for aid from Structural Funds are selected on the basis of this classification.

Read our Library Statistical Spotlight for more statistical data and graphical presentations

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Download the EPRS App

EPRS App on Google Play
EPRS App on App Store
What Europe Does For You
EU Legislation in Progress
Topical Digests
EPRS Podcasts

Follow Blog via Email

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,550 other subscribers

Disclaimer and Copyright statement

The content of all documents (and articles) contained in this blog is the sole responsibility of the author and any opinions expressed therein do not necessarily represent the official position of the European Parliament. It is addressed to the Members and staff of the EP for their parliamentary work. Reproduction and translation for non-commercial purposes are authorised, provided the source is acknowledged and the European Parliament is given prior notice and sent a copy.

For a comprehensive description of our cookie and data protection policies, please visit Terms and Conditions page.

Copyright © European Union, 2014-2019. All rights reserved.

%d bloggers like this: