Components of the peace agreement

After more than 50 rounds of formal talks, the final agreement was announced on 24 August, and both the Colombian Government and the FARC declared a permanent ceasefire starting on 29 August 2016. The FARC held their 10th Conference (and last as a guerrilla army) from 17 to 23 September in El Yarí, and their members ratified the agreement on 23 September 2016. The agreement was signed officially by the parties on 26 September 2016 in Cartagena de Indias (Colombia), in the presence of international dignitaries. And would be submitted to a popular referendum on 2 October 2016, aimed to endorse its legitimacy with a public mandate.