EPRS Admin By / January 11, 2017

European Parliament Presidents

Data source: The European Parliament (9th edition), Corbett, Jacobs, Neville, 2016.

European Parliament Presidents

Until 1979, EP Presidents were chosen on an annual or biennial basis. Since the first EP election by universal suffrage in 1979, the President is elected and remains in office for a renewable period of two and a half years. During each legislative term, a first election is normally held in July, immediately after the election of the new Parliament, and a second, mid-term election is held two and a half years later, in January.

Related Articles

Be the first to write a comment.

Leave a Reply