EPRS Admin By / April 13, 2022

timeline 1

EU sanctions in 2022

EU sanctions in 2022

Outraged by Moscow’s illegal and unjustified invasion of Ukraine, the EU Member States have adopted unprecedentedly tough sanctions against Russia, in cooperation with the US, Canada, the UK and other G7 countries, the European Free Trade Area (EFTA) members, and others. Below is a timeline of the sanctions adopted in response to Russia’s decision, announced on 21 February 2022, to recognise the non-government controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts in Ukraine as independent entities, and Russia’s subsequent invasion of Ukraine on 24 February 2022. The timeline does not include EU sanctions adopted in 2014 in response to Russia’s annexation of Crimea.

Related Articles

Be the first to write a comment.

Leave a Reply